US Senators Heinrich and Luján join a bipartisan group pushing for Latino and women’s Smithsonian museums



WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Senators Martin Heinrich (DN.M.) and Ben Ray Luján (DN.M.) are part of a bipartisan group of Senators calling on Lonnie G. Bunch III, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, to do the Intent of last year’s legislation passed by Congress that both the National Museum of the American Latino and the Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum be on or near the National Mall.

“The 116th Congress saw the passage of two new Smithsonian museums into law … as we continue this process, we would like to take this opportunity to express the intent of Congress as set out in the permitting legislation that governs both the National Museum and the of the American Latino and Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum should be located in or near the National Mall as much as possible, ”the Senators wrote.

The passage of this critically important bill is the culmination of a decade-long process to create Smithsonian museums that celebrate the historical, cultural, and economic contribution of women and Latinos throughout American history.

The Senators added, “With more than 25 million people visiting the National Mall each year, it is not surprising that many Smithsonian institutions claim this area as their home and best for disseminating knowledge. The addition of the two new museums to the Mall will further the Smithsonian’s mission by showcasing and highlighting the untold and overlooked contributions of both women and Latinos to our nation. It is fitting that these two museums are prominently placed as this helps more visitors enjoy them and learn from them. “

The letter, led by US Senator Bob Menendez (DN.J.), was also written by US Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Michael Blumenthal (D-Conn.) , Cory. signed Booker (DN.J.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Maggie Hassan (DN.H.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Ed Markey (D-Mass .), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Chuck Schumer (DN.Y.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Sheldon Whitehouse (DR.I.), John Cornyn (D-Texas), Marco Rubio (D-Fla. ), and Susan Collins (D-Maine). US Representatives Tony Cárdenas (D-Calif.) And Carolyn B. Maloney (DN.Y.-12) carried an identical letter in the US House of Representatives.

Read a copy of the letter here.


About Author

Comments are closed.