SC STATE Athletics: Bulldogs leading in MEAC All-Time Golf, women’s tennis teams | MEAC news


T&D Employee Report

NORFOLK, Virginia – As the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference celebrates its 50th anniversary in the 2020/21 academic year, the conference office has announced the Men’s Golf All-Time Team, presented by The Home Depot and made up of 50 outstanding students -Athletes in the history of the conference.

Eleven members of the team played for South Carolina State University.

A total of more than 200 votes were cast, in which fans, media representatives, sports information contacts from institutions and others took part.

To be considered for voting, student-athletes must have been appointed to the MEAC All-Tournament Team, MEAC Championship Outstanding Performer, reach the Top 5 of the PGA National Minority (now PGA WORKS) Championship, or be inducted into the MEAC Hall of Fame Black College Hall of Fame or PGA National Minority Hall of Fame.

The men of the SC State are demanding the MEAC tennis crown

A total of 50 people, including a national master and a two-time Hall of Famer, will be honored. SC State’s all-time team members are listed in alphabetical order:

  • Robert Cacho: 2009 PGA National Minority Championship medalist; All-time low round from MEAC (63, 2008-09).
  • Leonard Cherry: 1974 MEAC All tournament.
  • Bobby Ellis: Two MEAC All tournaments (1975, 1977)
  • Douglas Grier: Two MEAC All tournaments (1975, 1977).
  • Raymond Grier: Medalist at the MEAC championship in 1974; two MEAC All tournaments (1972, 1974).
  • Rodney Lathern: Top 2, 1989 PGA National Minority Championship.
  • Martin Roache: Two-time medalist in the PGA National Minority Championship (1990, 1991).
  • Kenny Southers: Medalist at the 1972 MEAC Championship; two MEAC All tournaments (1972, 1974).
  • Adrian Stills: Two-time NAIA All-American (1977, 1980); 1977 MEAC championship medalist; 1977 MEAC All tournament; National Black Golf Hall of Fame Class of 2021; MEAC Hall of Fame class from 1993.
  • Roy Stills: 1974 MEAC All Tournament.
  • Emerson Wright: 1972 MEAC All Tournament.


About Author

Leave A Reply