Pac-12 announces all conference awards in 2022


SAN FRANCISCO – The Pac-12 Conference today announced the Pac-12 men’s and women’s individual rowing awards and overall conference teams for the 2022 season, as voted by the conference coaches.

The California men’s and Stanford women’s rowing teams win the individual awards than the California Ollie Maclean was named Pac-12 Men’s Rowing Athlete of the Year while he was a teammate Gennaro di Mauro was voted Pac-12 Men’s Rowing Newcomer of the Year. The Bears head coach Scott Fransen was named Pac-12 Men’s Rowing Coach of the Year. On the women’s side of Stanford’s Azja Czajkowski scooped the Pac-12 Women’s Rowing Athlete of the Year award while also being a teammate Iris Klok was voted Pac-12 Women’s Newcomer of the Year. Stanford head coach Derek Byrnes coined Pac-12 Women’s Rowing Coach of the Year.

PAC-12 MEN’S ROWING ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Ollie Maclean, Sr., California (Auckland, New Zealand)

After being a key member and leader of the Bears this season, Ollie Maclean led the California varsity eight to a five-place undefeated season. His leadership played a key role in helping California pick up wins over Santa Clara, San Diego, Oregon State, Boston University, Wisconsin, the Northeast and Washington. In the statement outing at Redwood Shores on April 23 against the conference opponent, then No. 3 in Washington, the Bears won the Schoch Cup for the first time since 2017, sitting alone at the top of IRA polls as they headed back earned an open water victory at the Pac-12 Championships for their 17th conference title in program history. Since the award’s inception in 2008, A Bear has now won seven of the 13 Pac-12 Men’s Rower of the Year honors.

MEN’S PAC-12 NEW ROW OF THE YEAR: Gennaro Di Mauro, Fr., CALIFORNIA (Sant’Anastasia, Italy)

In his freshman year Gennaro di Mauro cemented the four seats for California’s undefeated varsity eight team. Mauro has played a key role for the nation’s No. 1 team all year as the Bears collegiate eight now head to the 2022 Intercollegiate Rowing Association National Championship to be held at Mercer Lake in West Windsor , New Jersey from 3rd to 5th June. At the age of 19, Mauro competed in the men’s singles at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, where he finished eighth. Internationally, he also rowed three times with the Italian national rowing team at the World Junior Rowing Championships (2017, 2018, 2019) and also rowed for Italy at the European Rowing Championships, World Rowing Cup and World Rowing Cup II. A Californian freshman now has the second Won the Pac-12 Men’s Newcomer of the Year for the ninth year in a row.

PAC-12 MEN’S ROWING TRAINER OF THE YEAR: Scott Frandsen, California

California’s Scott Fransen picks up his first-ever Pac-12 Coach of the Year award in just his fourth season at the helm of the Bears. After leading the Bears to No. 1 in IRA polls and their first conference championship since 2016, Frandsen has led California to a dominant season. Heading towards the IRA Championships, Frandsen currently has his teams nationally with a No. 1 team ranked 8th, a No. 2 team ranked 2nd and a No. 2 team ranked 3rd at the Pac-12 Championships, the Bears finished first in four of five races, while California secured its 17th conference title in program history.

PAC-12 WOMEN’S ROWING ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Azja Czajkowski, Sr., Stanford (Chula Vista, Calif.)

After spending most of her career sitting in the three-holes, Czajkowski now sits for the collegiate eight-team. As both a three-hole player and a stroke attorney, she has helped the Cardinal have a stellar season. Czajkushi has led Stanford to key wins over top competition at the San Diego Crew Classic, Pac-12 Invite and Big 10 Invite en route to an undefeated varsity-eight team this season. At the Pac-12 championships, No. 2 Stanford picked up four of five wins en route to Stanford’s first conference title since 2014. Czajkowski was named to the all-conference team for the first time in her career while also becoming the sixth cardinal in program history named Pac-12 Women’s Rower of the Year.

PAC-12 WOMEN’S ROWING NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Iris Klok, Mrs., STANFORD (Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Stanford’s freshman Iris Klok, a native of Amsterdam, Netherlands, becomes the third consecutive Cardinal to be named Pac-12 Women’s Newcomer of the Year. This season, Klok has sat either six or five holes for the college boat, which is unbeaten this season. She has helped Stanford claim victories against some of the nation’s best teams including California, Washington, USC, Oregon State, Pennsylvania, SMU, Alabama, Brown and Ohio State. Internationally, Klok won silver in the women’s eights at the 2021 World U23 Championships and gold at the 2019 World U23 Championships. The Cardinal will head into the 2022 NCAA championships with three top-four seeds, No. 3 in the varsity eight, No. 4 in the second varsity eight, and No. 2 in the varsity four.

PAC-12 WOMEN’S ROW COACH OF THE YEAR: Derek Byrnes, Stanford

Since becoming head coach of the women’s rowing team in 2017, Derek Byrnes has guided the Cardinal to four top-six finishes at the NCAA championships. Last year, Stanford was the second-place team at the NCAAs, which was their best result since 2011. This season, Byrnes has led the Cardinal to an amazing season, with each of their varsity teams seeded in the top-4 in the NCAA championships. A #3 seed in varsity eight, a #4 seed in the second varsity eight, and a #2 seed in varsity four. Byrnes led Stanford to this year’s Pac-12 championship for the first time since 2014, ending its seven-year runner-up streak. Five members of the Cardinal have been selected for the national under-23 team selection camp, with an opportunity to represent the USA at the 2022 World Under-23 Rowing Championships in Varese, Italy. This is the sixth time a Stanford women’s rowing coach has received the Pac-12 Women’s Coach of the Year award, as it will be Brynes’ first honor since she took on the position.

By winning varsity 8 competitions at the 2022 Pac-12 championships, the California men and Stanford women lead the 2022 Pac-12 Rowing All-Conference teams, also announced by the conference bureau on Friday.

All-Conference Rowing Team members are based on each institution’s result in the Varsity 8 race at the Pac-12 Championships held at Dexter Lake in Eugene, Ore. The conference champion will provide four members of the all-conference team, the second-place crew will provide three members, and third-place crew will provide two. All other participating crews will each receive a selection.


Surname school Year hometown
Campbell Crouch California jr Waikato, New Zealand
Cedar Cunningham Washington sir Renton, Washington.
Angus Dawson California jr Dingabledinga, Australia
Gert Jan Van Doorn Washington sir Leiden, Netherlands
Simon van Dorp Washington sir Amsterdam, Netherlands
Tristan Gavin Oregon State sir
Eliot Kemp California sir Bracknell, United Kingdom
Ollie Maclean California sir Auckland, New Zealand
Nils Patrick Oregon State sir Sacramento, California
Steve Rost Washington GR. Ontario, Canada
James Wright Stanford sir Philly, Pa.


Surname school Year hometown
Lucine Ahyi California sir Nantes, France
Sierra Bishop Oregon State sir Wilsonville, Ore.
McKenna Bryant Washington sir Kent, Washington.
Olivia Caesar UCLA jr Bath, England
Nina Castagne Washington sir Cincinnati, Ohio
Azja Czajkowski Stanford sir Chula Vista, California
Juliane Faralisch California 5th Sr.
Katelin Gildersleeve Stanford jr Dallas, Texas
Jenna van de Grift U.S.C sir San Diego, California
Jessica Norris Washington 5th Sr. Havelock, New Zealand
Caroline Ricksen Stanford sir Orinda, California
Aisha Rocek Washington Mrs. Como, Italy
Esther Briz Zamorano Stanford sir Zaragoza, Spain

About Author

Comments are closed.